Follow Us:


AIL division 1A, Young Munster 16, Garryowen 16:

IT was tough and it was tense at times as this local derby ended with a share of points at Tom Clifford Park tonight.

Garryowen had a great chance to win the tie, a close in penalty deep into injury time hitting the top of the post and going wide.

Young Munster had the better of the first half and led 13-6 at the break. Paul Downes for the home side and James Frawley for the light blues traded early penalties but Alan Kennedy’s try for ‘Munsters’, converted by Paul Downes, gave the home side breathing space.

Downes and Frawley kicked penalties before the break.

A third penalty kick from Paul Downes increased the Young Munster lead to 16-6 early in the second half but Garryowen began to get a better footing in the game and James Frawley got them back into contention with his third penalty.

The Dooradoyle side were rewarded for some good attacking rugby when Liam McMahon got over and Frawley added the extra two points to level the tie at 16-16.

According to a Garryowen spokesman after the game, they were quite happy with the two points which keeps them in a high league position.

Scorers: Young Munster: Tries: Alan Kennedy ; Pen Paul Downes (3) ; Con: Paul Downes.

Garryowen: Tries: Liam Mc Mahon ; Pen: James Frawley (3) ; Con: James Frawley.

Young Munster: 1. David Begley, 2. Ger Slattery, 3. Paul Allen, 4. Darren Gallagher, 5. Sean Duggan, 6. Alan Ross, 7. Diarmuid Dee, 8. Tom Goggin, 9. Gary Fitzgerald, 10. Paul Downes, 11. Micheal Vaughan, 12. Diarmaid McCarthy, 13. Daragh O’Neill , 14. Warren Kelly, . Craig O’Hanlon SUBS: 16. Danial Montgomery, 17. Ger O’Flaherty, 18. Alan Kennedy, 19. Wayne Murphy, 20. Michael Mulally

Garryowen: 1. Ben Rowley, 2. Liam Mc Mahon, 3. JP Phelan, 4. Aaron Mc Closkey, 5. Paul Mc Carroll, 6. Johnny Keane, 7. Elliott Fitzgerald, 8. Josh Hrstich, 9. Neil Cronin, 10. Conan Doyle, 11. James Frawley, 12. Joey Purcell, 13. Andrew O’Byrne, 14. James Mc Inerney, 15. Alex Wootton. SUBS: 16. Liam Cronin, 17. Mike O’Donnell, 18. J. Hanrahan, 19. Ed Barry, 20. Hugh O Brien-Cunningham.

Report re-produced from Limerick