Follow Us:

  • Ger Clohessy lifts AIL trophy
  • Paul O'Connell Honoured
  • Under Age Open Day 2015
  • Tony Ward Young Munster Memories
  • Johnny Brennan
February 13th 1993 revisited1 Paul O'Connell Honoured2 Under Age Open Day 20153 Tony Ward's Young Munster memories4 Johnny Brennan5
angular slider by v8.2

Thank You Paul

On the occasion of the announcement by Paul O Connell of his decision to retire from playing Rugby, I would like to take this opportunity as President of Young Munster RFC, to offer Paul and his family the very best wishes for their future and to thank him on behalf of everyone associated with Young Munster RFC, for his tremendous playing career remembering especially, that it all started in our club.

Paul has never forgotten his associations with Young Munster RFC and his many exploits on the rugby field over the years has brought much joy and pride to everyone at the club.

To say that he is a hero in our club, is an understatement as he is indeed a living legend and we were delighted when he accepted our invitation to become an Honorary Life President of Young Munster RFC, earlier this season.

It is to be sincerely hoped he will continue to have a big input into the game in Limerick and Munster.

Your's in rugby,

Tony Cusack

President Young Munster RFC

Paul O'Connell honoured

Saturday was a great day for Young Munster RFC. On the same afternoon that the Senior team overcame Cork Constitution in the Ulster Bank League, Division 1A fixture, we made our own legendary lock, Paul O'Connell, an honorary life Vice-President of the club.

More than 200 people were present at the Young Munster v Cork Constitution pre-match function, including many of Paul O'Connell's former team-mates, as the Limerick club honoured him.

It was an occasion of mixed emotions at Tom Clifford Park, however, as Young Munster stalwart Willie Allen passed away on Friday. In his acceptance speech, Paul acknowledged Willie's contribution to the club and to himself personally.

During his speech, Paul emphasised the importance of local clubs in the development of young players and thanked many of the ex-coaches and players for their support and assistance throughout the years.

The former Munster, Ireland and Lions captain (pictured receiving his award from current Young Munster RFC President Tony Cusack) went on to recall some of the memorable (and often humorous) moments of his career with Young Munster, and the special bonds that will forever exist with him and club rugby in Ireland.

He mentioned and thanked other clubs, with specific reference to Cork Constitution, for their contribution and development of players, who furthered their own careers with the Irish provinces and the national team.

Paul's good friend, Donncha O'Callaghan, was frequently mentioned during this section of the speech, and all of the stories generated a lot of laughter from the assembled crowd.

Ireland's RWC 2015 skipper used these stories to emphasise the incredible friendships that are created through club rugby, even if the players come from different clubs. He also reminded the Cork Con delegation in attendance that even though the O'Connell family have strong links with Cork rugby, Sunday's Well is their club of choice, of which, all the O'Connell family are members!

In true Paul O'Connell-style, he signed autographs and posed for photographs for the huge crowd that seemed to appear from nowhere once the formalities had finished.

You can view the photographs from Saturday, here.